+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Excel Report Template in SIMS in Technical; Afternoon First of all I am quite new to reporting in SIMS. I know how to create reports and can ...

Thank Post

Question Excel Report Template in SIMS

Afternoon

First of all I am quite new to reporting in SIMS. I know how to create reports and can generally find the information I need and export it out but this has me stumped.

I am trying to run a report that exports information into an Excel spreadsheet. The values that get exported need to be manipulated with formulas to generate the results we need. At the moment all I can do is select Standard Portrait or Standard Landscape in the Excel Settings area, but this generates a new speadsheet.

Is there a way that I can create an Excel template that includes all these formulas, which SIMS uses to export the data to? That way I can include all the formulas and styling I need so the resulting spreadsheet is ready to be mail merged.

I have noticed that there is a Report Template option, however there seems to be no documentation for this and I can't find any support for it anywhere.

I might not have explained this very well so please let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks for your help,
    James

Thank Post
    I don't think SIMS uses excel to do the calculations, it just loads the completed report into a worksheet. IIRC, old versions of SIMS could only create a csv file when running reports. I've just created a report to import into ReportAssist and I had to physically change the Year field from text to numeric in Excel.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by laserblazer View Post
    I don't think SIMS uses excel to do the calculations, it just loads the completed report into a worksheet.
    I understand that