+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Delete SIMS Profiles 7 session in Technical; I'm new to SIMS and have had Profiles 7 dumped on me with no training so be gentle I've set ...

Thank Post

Delete SIMS Profiles 7 session

I'm new to SIMS and have had Profiles 7 dumped on me with no training so be gentle

I've set up templates and comment banks and generated a test profile for a student to make sure everything works OK. I now can't delete this session because I've generated profiles against it, even though its only one kid and I've removed the comments placed against them,

I've spoken to a few people who say thats just the way SIMS works (pretty poor bit of software in my experiences so far) but it seems rather inflexible - what happens if you make a mistake in the future, there'll be sessions all over the place!

Anyone managed to remove a session before?

Thank Post

Profiles 7 sessions

No we have not deleted any sessions but once they are finished with they are marked as closed and the browse of sessions is set by default to active so you need never see them unless you want to. We have currently got 72 closed sessions!

Thank Post
    Goldenwonder, please get some training! SIMS is very powerful and hugely flexible but you need to understand how it works!!

Thank Post
    Profiles 7 is a bit of a monster - you really do need some training for it. When the technician here who was in charge of school reports / profiles left here I picked up the reigns without any training. I got by, but struggled to understand the software at first with no knowledge of it and only the manual to hand.

The biggest thing you need to remember is, make sure everything is right before you make the session active - once it is, you can't make any changes again to that session.

Thank Post