+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, CMIS Data Integration in Technical; Hi, I'm new here and very new to CMIS, so allow me to introduce myself. I am a developer by ...
    Thank Post

CMIS Data Integration

Hi,

I'm new here and very new to CMIS, so allow me to introduce myself. I am a developer by trade who has is currently involved in helping my employer to decide upon a VLE. Currently the options are FROG, in-house or a combination of the two.

One part that I am currently considering is the ability to read from our MIS - CMIS. further to this I want to be able to write back to it - it's only SQL database after all.

My question is this; does anyone have or know of any documentation on the data structure or have any advice on writing information to the database?

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
    nathj

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    We did this CMIS/moodle integration before the powers that be made us migrate to SIMS (political decision rather than technical)

I'm afraid I don't have any documentation, other than to say it is possible as its just an SQL database.
    Last edited by CyberNerd; 3rd December 2008 at 03:31 PM. Reason: repeating myself

Thank Post
    That's encouraging and pretty much as I expected. I'm sure it's not going to cause me too much bother - once I figure out the data structure. To be honest as MySQL, PHP developer I'm not at all worried about the code I just want some tips on the data structure as I hear it's not normalised and doesn't make any logical sense but as yet I've not seen it.

Also, the tools that we are considering for a VLE seem to be able to read from the CMIS system but not write to them - which could result in data duplication and even poorer data integrity.

Thanks for the encouraging words though
    nathj

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,032 Times in 812 Posts
    no worries,