+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Help - Sims problem 'reason: 6' in Technical; Help, We are currently without a technician (interviewing Monday). I am an ICT teacher at a Junior School with a ...

Thank Post

Help - Sims problem 'reason: 6'

Help,

We are currently without a technician (interviewing Monday). I am an ICT teacher at a Junior School with a fair bit of server (MS and Linux) experience.

I have done sims updates many times before as we seem to go through technicians quickly. Anyway i downloaded the Nov update today and was in the process of installing when the upgrade stopped with some warning (sorry did not make a note). Anyway I cannot now log in to sims or solus and get reason:6 and the system does not let me in.

On the capita website http://support.capitaes.co.uk/websup...from=HotTopics

It tells me to detach and then re-attach the database. http://support.capitaes.co.uk/websup...spx?KB=KB23423

I would like some help on how to do this please. I can get DBAttatch up and connect using the SA log in. The part in the second link I am most stuck on is in brackets and upper case on the second link.

Anyone offer any help with this please?

Regards,

Matthew

Thank Post
    Ah, the infamous reason 6 Good luck!

Thank Post
    So many questions!

Why do you lose technicians so quickly, should this be addressed? A happy technician will normally take some shifting!

If you can use Solus, you should have Capita/LEA support, why are they not helping?

If you don't have maintenance for a core system, why not?

Thank Post

Reason: 6

I guess it feels like we go through technicians quickly (4 in 8 years).

In reality three of the technicians secured promotions elsewhere and were sad to leave and one retired. I think we are a good employer but being a junior with 1 tech position cannot offer much progression.

As we are a Foundation school we do not buy in to LA support and have up to now not found this to be a major issue.