+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Integris G2 - do i really have to? in Technical; Hello all! I am a technician and look after 7 primary schools in and around dewsbury/batley area. Now, several of ...
    Thank Post

Integris G2 - do i really have to?

Hello all!

I am a technician and look after 7 primary schools in and around dewsbury/batley area.

Now, several of my schools have finally migrated over from the old client integris to the web based integris g2.

I am being told over and over that as an ICT technician i should have to do a course related with G2 so i can use it.

But as far as i understand my job i dont have anything to do with any systems hosted outside of my networks.

I can make sure that the machines are setup to use integris and that they can access the integris website but do i REALLY have to do this course?

I was advised by my line manager not to go near integris and im trying to follow his advice but the heads are beating me back.

Any advice?

Thank Post
    Not sure about that one.
    Could depend on your JD. If you are employed purely as an "ICT Technician" then you are responsible for the day to day runnning of the computers - nothing more.

If you are actually full-on Managing the ICT though, you might have less luck getting out of it.

I agree that, technically, its a 3rd party system which is out of your own hosted network.
    On the other hand, it is operating on your network, and you are most likely responsible for network / software running correctly etc, in which case the training would probably be seen as an essential part of that.

Personally, I wouldn't mind some training on new systems - good to expand your knowledge base, plus you get a "day out" so to speak :P

Thank Post