+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, Electronic Registration (a new one!) in Technical; Hi All, I'm new in post at a Secondary School, taken charge of a Network that is in a real ...

Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Talking Electronic Registration (a new one!)

Hi All,

I'm new in post at a Secondary School, taken charge of a Network that is in a real mess but its going to be fun to sort out. :P This is a new sector for me working in Education, so be gentle, but I have an issue that is playing on my mind.....

I've been instructed that we must have Electronic Registration that is to be done twice a day in place by Sept '08. We're using SIMS.net here on the Admin network, (I should really say Domain because it's not two physical networks but just two seperate Domain's one for Admin and one for Curriculum).

Teachers need to do Registration around the school electronically, but of course this is all on the Admin network. Teachers laptops and classroom PC's are on the Curriculum network. One infrastructure, but the device is either configured for Admin or Curriculum if that makes sense.

So, we're trying to get a Capita rep in to talk to us about solutions, but I've got a few ideas bouncing around my head to solve this issue . I'd appreciate any input or suggestions from you guys and gals that could point me in the right direction.

Many thanks

Pete

Thank Post
    We moved away from a two domain network to one DOMAIN network to allow teachers to access Sims.net.... - if you're not planning lesson by lesson registration then Sims.net is free solution as you don't need to buy Lesson Monitor!! You should already have attendance 7 installed which allows staff to take registration by AM / PM on their timeline on the homepage.

Alternatively you could buy other software e.g. Pars etc... but why pay, and I'd prefer if we keep everything centrally under one MIS.

Any questions, let me know ... or PM me.

3. Thanks to kiran from: