+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS SOLUS - Delegating upgrade rights for management by third party in Technical; Dear all I'm sure this is an utterly ridiculous thing to ask. I'm sure as soon as I start discussing ...
    msi

Thank Post

SIMS SOLUS - Delegating upgrade rights for management by third party

Dear all

I'm sure this is an utterly ridiculous thing to ask. I'm sure as soon as I start discussing file and registry permissions required by SIMS SOLUS, most people will respond with "hahahaha, no you can't do that".

But here it is.

I support a school which has a virtual machine running two SQL database applications: SIMS and PSFinancials. I'm currently in the process of handing over support for these two applications to their respective support providers (having been the one that installed and supported them for a few years myself). I'm not employed by the school - I'm a freelance engineer.

SIMS will be managed by the local authority's IT Support Unit, who have a fabulous record for ensuring they don't accidentally shut down servers, change the IP address of domain controllers, and all the other things that you can do to wreck a network.

Given the above, you can imagine I'm thrilled about the prospect of giving them administrator access to the server.

(In case your sarcasm detector is not working today - the above is of course... a joke.)

Actually, I'm not simply "unhappy" to give them local admin to the server - it's not going to happen. No way. If they foobar the server which is not unlikely, it will prevent the finance ladies from doing their jobs properly. Of course, PSFinancials is technically supported by PSFinancials Support ... but I know how it works. It will all come back to me eventually, regardless of whatever form I get anyone to sign. (I plan to continue to provide support to the school - just not for SIMS and PSF.)