+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, New install? Where to start? Training/exercises? in Technical; Our LEA has maintained our SIMS install for years but they recently tried to get more work by taking over ...

Thank Post

New install? Where to start? Training/exercises?

Our LEA has maintained our SIMS install for years but they recently tried to get more work by taking over school.

When we refused to go back to a system with 30min logins as well as other schools they brought in a change to their contract. They no longer are going to support SIMS on curriculum networks.

This leaves me to install it onto a new server in the summer.

Problem is apart from installing the client I have no experience in the server side stuff. I have seen the server option in simsint.

If we outsource it we cannot use the LEA's licence and the finance manager fell of his chair when he looked at Capitas quote.

Can anyone recommend me training or some good guides for installing a new server ( probably be on server 2012 r2 as I'm hoping it will be supported by then ), and also migrating data.

Many thanks.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,400 Times in 1,160 Posts
    There's plenty of help and guides on here.

At the moment getting the server installed to the right version might be the hardest part, only because they haven't released all the tools for it yet.
    You need an installable ISO from Capita's SupportNet. If you're not a member sign up. More guides and info there too.

In a nutshell, install and fully patch windows. Then the same for SQL. Run the SIMS installable for the right version, hopefully summer with latest SQL version then just restore a backup of your current data.