+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS API access or import routine in Technical; Hi, I promise I have spent a fair amount of time researching before I've posted here, but apologies in advance ...

Thank Post

SIMS API access or import routine

Hi,

I promise I have spent a fair amount of time researching before I've posted here, but apologies in advance if I've missed the obvious.

So, my question is (and I am waiting for a response from Capita but so far no joy), is there any way to update data within SIMS either via an API or import routine (I don't want to mess around with the SQL tables directly...I'm too long in the tooth to make that rookie mistake :-) )

The reason is this - as a freelance programmer, I have written a piece of code for a local school that reports upon staff absence based upon the fact that they've not entered the building using their swipe card. This report then lists the staff who did not "swipe" that day and therefore are presumed absent. This information is then entered manually (shudder!!!!) onto SIMS.

The next step is to allow staff to report themselves absent through a phone app and/or SMS messaging ... this is the easy bit from my perspective.

However, being the programming nerd that I am, the thought of the staff then having to manually update SIMS with this information chills me to the core (OK, slight exaggeration).

Hence, my question - can one update SIMS through an API or through batch file importing (like you can with Sage accounting software)

Thanks in advance and apologies if I've asked something very obvious .... I did spend a couple of hours hunting around the net to try and find an answer.

Dan

Thank Post
    You'll want to get in contact with David Grashoff. Guff here > http://www.capita-sims.co.uk/files/s...document_0.pdf

3. Thanks to matt40k from:

David_Grashoff (20th November 2013)

Thank Post
    @dangolding how did you get on?

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,383 Times in 1,145 Posts