+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Newbie trying to get data out of SIMS in Technical; Hi, folks. Thanks for reading - please be patient with the gallons of ignorance that drench this post: I've no ...

Thank Post

Newbie trying to get data out of SIMS

Hi, folks. Thanks for reading - please be patient with the gallons of ignorance that drench this post: I've no knowledge of SIMS except that it uses a SQL server back end and we use it at our secondary school.

I'm a governor and I'm working with the DHT on a project to get homework and detention data (initially) entered into SIMS and be able to report on it - ideally by individual email. From my limited understanding of the product, we'd need to have the "Learning Gateway" module installed, which we simply can't afford, hence this little project.

Is it possible to record homework data for a class on the core product (I found detentions, not homework, on the website), and then extract it per student using a self-developed app or by stripping the data from a report? I gather that Capita are secretive about their data structure, so trying to find the data by looking in the tables is going to be difficult. Add to that their habit of moving things around, it's likely the report option is the only option - but if the fields aren't available I'll need to think of another method.

Thanks again for any insight you might be able to offer.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,160 Times in 794 Posts
    Hi Gorf,

I recommend you (or whoever will be developing the system) gets to grips with reporting using SIMS built in report designer and also how to extract data using those reports and Command Reporter; a free commad line utility that resides in the SIMS .net installation folder and allows you to run reports.

Here are a few threads to get you started:
    SIMS.net Reporting
    executing CommandReporter from scripts
    Command Reporter and Filtering Reports
    CLR /Params String