+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS Learning about SQL and Writing basic Scripts in Technical; Hi All I'm currently a data manager but one of the things I will love to do is understand how ...

Thank Post

SIMS Learning about SQL and Writing basic Scripts

Hi All

I'm currently a data manager but one of the things I will love to do is understand how the SIMS SQL database work and possibly learn how to write basic scripts using commandreporter and maybe one day be able to write small scripts that enables me to do things I'm unable to do. Plus it would help me career wise as high paying Data Manager roles are asking for experience with SQL and I may end up changing careers and become a programmer.

I just wanted to ask:

* is there documentation/ what programming language do I need to write scripts in commandreporter
    * do you think the SIMS Technical courses on Installing and Configuring the SQL database useful for me to attend with me only having data management knowledge
    * What advice or stuff or training could I do if I'm interested in doing the more technical stuff with SIMS or looking to possibly become a programmer in the future

Thanks for your advice

CAM

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Command Reporter just runs a report designed in the SIMS system and outputs the results to CSV I think. You can't interact directly with the database though.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Doesn't Capita jealously guard access to the actual database? $$$$$?

I have seen the database and I can't say it was structured or named in a way that would make it easy to figure out. I think you'd need Capita's API's and reference manuals to be able to do anything more than can already be done through the built in Reports system.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by tmcd35 View Post
    Doesn't Capita jealously guard access to the actual database? $$$$$?