+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Importing into SIMS Attendance in Technical; Hi all, My first post I'm new to my job so I've got a lot to learn with SIMS. We've ...

Thank Post

Importing into SIMS Attendance

Hi all,

My first post

I'm new to my job so I've got a lot to learn with SIMS. We've also got PPMS Pisys in the school which we currently use just to create pupil reports. Ideally, since it's web based and very user friendly, I'd like to develop PPMS for teachers to also do assessments, analysis and attendance on it.

Does anyone therefore know whether it is at all possible to import attendance data into SIMS? This facility doesn't seem to be available at first glance.

Many thanks.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,383 Times in 1,145 Posts

Re: Importing into SIMS Attendance

Welcome Jonsi,

Yes it's possible to import attendance data into SIMS. We use a third party app': Bromcom to do registers, and on the fly it updates the AM and PM registers on the SIMs attendance module.

I doubt it's easy and you probably need a licence to do it without your support team or LA getting annoyed.

I could ask Bromcom for you if you are interested, they write pure SQL (yes i know, real hardcore!), so could probably give you some help. In fact there's no reason why they wouldn't set it up for you for a fee if you really wanted it doing.

i'm going to a forum in Coventry at the end of the month so can ask if you are interested. let me know.

Thank Post

@Jonsi

I don't think attendance data can be imported in the same way you can import assessment data from Excel spreadsheets into Assessment manager. If you rely on a 3rd party solution for electronic registration then it has to be one which has licensed the SIMS database API from Capita. Bromcom and TASC Software's PARS are two examples.

If you really like a challenge you could create your own virtual OMR device and use that to do a covernsion off attendance data into something SIMS undertands.

Thank Post