+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Command Reporter and Filtering Reports in Technical; Hi all, I'm just beginning to use the CommandReporter tool in SIMS and am finding it very useful, but need ...

Thank Post

Question Command Reporter and Filtering Reports

Hi all,

I'm just beginning to use the CommandReporter tool in SIMS and am finding it very useful, but need a bit of help in figuring out if it can do what I want. At the moment I have created a report in SIMS that outputs students names, registration group and admin number. As part of that report, I have also added in an "Assessment results" field, which I filter for a particular result that I need (where the filter is set to equal the aspect name of the result). I can run this report via the command reporter, and everything is in the report that I need.

Now at the moment, if I want several sets of results for each child, I just add more filters (using OR), and again filter on the different aspect names I need. However, I have written some VBA code to run this report via command reporter, and I want the code to be able to determine how many filters are applied (depending on how many results I need). In some cases this could be as many as 15 filters. Is it possible to specify this purely via /paramsfile. My problem is that sometimes I may only want 1 filter, and I don't want to have to run 15 of them as that will take a long time, but I need my code to determine this. Is this possible?

Many thanks,

Chris
    Last edited by cn198; 22nd July 2013 at 12:40 AM.

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,170 Times in 798 Posts
    Hi Chris,

Unfortunately, you can only pass the filters via PARAMDEF that have been explicitly specified in SIMS, i.e. if there are 10 filters in SIMS, you have to pass 10 *