+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS : Entity Relationship Diagrams : ERD's in Technical; Hi all I'm a new data manager (2 weeks into my job), with a detailed IT background in Sytems Analysis, ...

Thank Post

SIMS : Entity Relationship Diagrams : ERD's

Hi all
    I'm a new data manager (2 weeks into my job), with a detailed IT background in Sytems Analysis, Data Analysis, Business Analysis and Data Base Design.

Whatever application I work on, I always try to understand the data structures behind the application.

I realise that SIMS is a package and therefore we have no direct access to any SQL Server database tables, but what would help me from a knowledge base point of view is a high level logical data diagram / entity relationship diagram.

The more complex areas of Assesment, in particular ... Aspects / Results Sets / Grade Sets / Templates would benefit form a high level ERD type diagram.

I'm not looking for all the table definintions, I'm only looking for the logical relationships within the application.

Has anybody ever drawn one up or indeed ever felt that they needed to have one?

Am I being too detailed in my analysis or looking at it too theoretically?

Any thoughts and comments are much appreciated

Regards

Phil

Thank Post
    Hi Phil

I can from a similar background and too would have liked to see the diagrams, unfortunately I was never able to get my hands on them.

As for the models for assessment manager, as most of the aspects and grade sets are produced and configured by the individual school they would need to keep a record of these themselves.

David

3. Thanks to DavidLong from:

bwfc_nottingham (8th April 2013)

Thank Post
    You could always take a backup of you database and the use Visio to create the entity relationship diagram from it.

5. Thanks to penfold_99 from:

Thank Post