+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Creating a report with Marksheet data in Technical; Hi All, I'm just learning to use SIMS so please go easy on me! Presently I am viewing data in ...

Thank Post

Creating a report with Marksheet data

Hi All,

I'm just learning to use SIMS so please go easy on me!

Presently I am viewing data in Marksheets, and it's all categorised into year groups and classes. So for example, each class in each year has it's marksheet entry. Within these marksheets is a number of grades I'm using to monitor the pupils performance. At the moment I'm opening each marksheet for a class, exporting it to Excel, and copying the data into a master spreadsheet to analyse the year group data in one go. So my question is, this is very fiddly having to export and copy data for every class. Is there some easier way to do this in one go? I was hoping that I could somehow create a year group Report, allowing me to select columns like "Pupil Name", "Gender", "Reg group" but then also columns relating to the grades from the marksheets I'm interested in? At the moment I can't find any way of doing that.

I hope that makes sense.

Chris

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,383 Times in 1,145 Posts
    @cn198

You can make a report but they get very fiddly very quickly, it will depend on your naming structure for the aspects that hold the grades and whether you've used resultsets in the marksheet.

It makes sense to use resultsets, the normal way is to use them to tie the data down to a particular point in time / collection period. e.g. Y7 Term1, or Spring Y8. This when coupled with the aspect makes the data held easy to identify. There are a couple of threads that go into best practise on Assessment Manager. This one and it has some links to others : Aspects - assessment Manager