+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Upgrading Solus2 to Solus 3 in Technical; Hi, I am looking for some advice. I am new to supporting SIMS and I have been given the job ...

Thank Post

Upgrading Solus2 to Solus 3

Hi, I am looking for some advice. I am new to supporting SIMS and I have been given the job of udating SOLUS 2 to SOLUS 3. I want to create a test environment and update several lap tops using SOLUS 3 prior to updating schools. I have a few questions if anybody would not mind answering:

1) Do I download SOLUS 3 and install on to the server or does each laptop have a copy of SOLUS 3 on it?
    2) Is there a way of rolling back to SOLUS 2 if SOLUS 3 does not install as anticipated?

Thank Post
    Not sure about 2, but you install the SOLUS3 environment on the server (in our case, our SIMS server). This has it's own DB in MSSQL. You then deploy the agents to the clients from the server (it integrates with AD to find PCs, but it can do more). The agents then check the server for updates, so when you deploy a SIMS update (or a SIMS install) the agent pulls it to the client.

Thank Post
    Once SOLUS3 is in place and agents are on the SIMS, FMS and Discover workstations, it will block the old SOLUS2 method (SIMSload.exe) from checking and applying any updates in the Setups folder. If you do roll back to SOLUS2, you will either need to fully remove the SOLUS3 agents from the devices so that SIMSLoad.exe can work again, or disable the SOLUS3 Agent service on each workstation.

Before going fully SOLUS3, ensure that everything is in place to avoid any nasty issues (Accurate DNS, firewall ports open on all devices, no corrupt WMI repositorys etc)

Be warned, SOLUS3 is NOT a nice piece of software to use.

Thank Post
    1) Install to the server. When SOLUS3 is setup you add the workstations/laptops in SOLUS3 as SIMS and/or FMS agents. That will allow updates to go out and install SIMS and FMS if its not already there.