+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, SIMS install for new Image in Technical; Hi all, I'm looking at creating a new image for the schools machines in the new year, the only thing ...

Thank Post

SIMS install for new Image

Hi all,

I'm looking at creating a new image for the schools machines in the new year, the only thing I'm a little puzzled with is the installation of SIMS, I've never worked in a school or used it before really, how do I go about insatalling SIMS on a client machine and configuring it.
    Is it just a case of navigating to the server were the software is installed and running a setup file or what?

I know I could probably google this but I prefer to ask those who do it day in and day out.

Cheers in advance.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    Nowadays, SIMS .net is deployed using Solus 3. It's not straightforward and rarely works on the first pass however, it usually gets to all the machines eventually....

3. Thanks to winng from:

lquinnuk (18th December 2012)

Thank Post
    In the sims shared drive (normally s then sims folder, then setups folder, then its SIMSINST.exe

I dont know if your folder structure is the same mind, my 4 schools are all the same but they have all been setup by the same LEA!

Edit: this is for solus 2 btw.

5. Thanks to DSapseid from:

lquinnuk (18th December 2012)

Thank Post
    If you got SOLUS3 make sure that the agent is not included in the image.
    If you do it will cause a heck of a load of problems.

SIMS .net\FMS modules can be included in the image no bother.
    Just make sure that the connect.ini, fmsconnect.ini and SIMS.ini are all correct before you include them in the image.

If you want to just install SIMS .net and FMS and not include them in an image, just run SIMSINST.exe (for SIMS .net) and FMSINSt.exe (for FMS).
    Just have a correct copy of the connect.ini and fmsconnect.ini to put into the SIMS .net and FMSSQL folders after the installation.