+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
MIS Systems Thread, Moving from IT support to Informations Systems Management in Technical; Hi all Very long time no-see. I've been out of the school IT support business for over a year now, ...
    Thank Post

Moving from IT support to Informations Systems Management

Hi all

Very long time no-see.

I've been out of the school IT support business for over a year now, but an opportunity has arisen to go back in as an Information Systems Manager.

I could use some advice...

Are there any ISM's on here who would be prepared to answer a few questions via PM?

Thanks in anticipation.

Thank Post
    BTW, this is an alternate account on here. I was quite active previously with a different username but I want to keep this on the QT as far as possible.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    I was an IS Manager equivalent for 4 years, happy to share.

Thank Post
    Sort of where both hats both Network Management and also involved in and line manage MIS or ISM department.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by GREED View Post
    I was an IS Manager equivalent for 4 years, happy to share.

Sort of where both hats both Network Management and also involved in and line manage MIS or ISM department.
    Thank you both for the replies.

I've been a sysadmin/IT support helpdesk/some MIS involvement (mainly SIMS). The role I'm contemplating is pure IS management and what I need is an overview of what you think I'll be expected to do. The job description is very woolly and fluffy, no substance.

It seems not much of a task to occupy a full working week on the face of it so there's obviously a lot about the role that I'm unaware of.

Any chance of your point of view on the role in general?

Many thanks.

Thank Post