+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Individual Reports - Find and Replace in Technical; WOW! I didnt even know this place existed! Im so pleased to have found it! I wonder if someone could ...

Thank Post

Unhappy Individual Reports - Find and Replace

WOW! I didnt even know this place existed! Im so pleased to have found it!
    I wonder if someone could assist me? Im new to SIMS but am a software developer by trade (C# .NET).
    I have been given individual reports to do for students. They have many many aspects on and are all linked to record sets. In brief what I want to do is a search and replace in word to change the record set but if i do that then the bookmarks no longer work. Anyone ever come across this?

Russ

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,197 Times in 812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by morrigan456 View Post
    WOW! I didnt even know this place existed! Im so pleased to have found it!
    I wonder if someone could assist me? Im new to SIMS but am a software developer by trade (C# .NET).
    I have been given individual reports to do for students. They have many many aspects on and are all linked to record sets. In brief what I want to do is a search and replace in word to change the record set but if i do that then the bookmarks no longer work. Anyone ever come across this?

Russ
    Welcome to Edugeek

What do you mean by "bookmarks"?

To find and replace resultsets, make sure you are in "design mode" (on the developer tab). You'll see that all the XML tags expand, and inside those you will see something along the lines of
    Code:
    |^Y7 Target^|^26^|
    The first part of that is the name of the resultset, the second part is it's external ID. You can find the ID by opening up the resultset in SIMS (Focus > Assessment > Result Sets) and scrolling to the bottom pane, properties.

You need to do a find and replace on both parts for it to work properly.