+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Nova T6 and timetabling. Who does yours? in Technical; I'm a Network Manager part time in a KS3 special school with circa 70 students. We are moving to timetabling ...
    Thank Post
    Blog Entries

Nova T6 and timetabling. Who does yours?

I'm a Network Manager part time in a KS3 special school with circa 70 students. We are moving to timetabling with SIMS T6. There is talk that I might be the member of staff picking up the task with extra hours.

I'm rather undecided to say the least. What is the opinion amongst you good folk please?

Thank Post
    The deputy head does it here. But we are a large-ish secondary school with near on 100 teaching staff.

The issues arrise not because the software is bad (it's quite good), but the negotiating with departments and individuals and trying fit everyone's requests into a timetable.

I have been mooted on occasion as a successor, but kept my head down and tried to avoid the job.

3. Thanks to skunk from:

speckytecky (8th November 2012)

Thank Post
    MIS Officer here with help from the Deputy Head although I sit in on some of the discussiions as I line Manage th MIS officer and as skunk has said seems more issues with trying to fit everyones requirements in trying to sort staff PPA etc.

I have sort of looked at it myself a couple of times but to be honest doesn't really interest me so have avoided getting to involved.

I also think it helps if your Maths are quite good as regards working out teaching hours per subject, department and allocating staff effectively whilst still keeping costs under control always remembering that Staff are one of the greatests costs in any company or school.

5. Thanks to Steven_Cleaver from:

Thank Post