+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, S Drive Permissions in Technical; Morning all, Please excuse my ignorance, I am a data manager starting to get his feet wet in the murky ...

Thank Post

S Drive Permissions

Morning all,

Please excuse my ignorance, I am a data manager starting to get his feet wet in the murky waters of server administration so this question may be naieve!

I wondered if anyone could advise on setting permissions on the S Drive. Over the summer our IT team installed new domain controllers, and pretty much gutted everything. Initially the default permissions to the S Drive for staff were pretty locked down which meant certain key staff couldn't access things like Exams, Nova and CTF creation.

Some individual accounts were given access to certain folders on a kind of ad-hoc basis but at some point this went wrong and now we have some users not able to access random folders and/or files and trying to adjust the permissions gives lots of errors along the lines of "cannot change permisssions for blah blah blah)

My question is, how would we go about re-setting staff permissions on the S Drive, and what would be the best/accepted way to grant individual users permissions to either the entire S Drive, or specific folders. Any other advice for a novice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank Post
    You'll need to read up on it really - there are some basic principles that need to be understood before changing things - here is a good start Managing Permissions You may need a MS account to log in before you can access it...

Thank Post
    File and Folder Permissions
    Understanding Windows Server 2008 File and Folder Ownership and Permissions - Techotopia

Read the above articles, make a cup of tea and re-read. The top article is based on Server 2000 and the bottom is on 2008. More than likley you've had 2008 installed but the top article is still a good read.