+ Post New Thread
MIS Systems Thread, Got a problem with a CMIS SQL connection in Technical; I've made a new DB in SQL for our studio school, which seems Ok in itself, but i think i'm ...

Thank Post

Got a problem with a CMIS SQL connection

I've made a new DB in SQL for our studio school, which seems Ok in itself, but i think i'm missing something in SQL security config for ODBC connections...

As an admin, I can go through, create a new DSN with the following credetials

name - studio,
    description - studio
    Server - CMIS

This is all as per our original cmis connection.

After clicking next I select

with SQL using a username and password supplied

and enter

our general username studio-general which as far as I can tell is set up exactly the same as our original cmis gneral username
    and it's password

I can then click next, and check the database name. click next again, and next again, perform the functional checks and all is well.

If I then log out as an admin and log in as the ordinary user who needs to use it I get an error...

the error says...

connection failed
    SQL State: '28000'
    SQL Server Error: 18456
    [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Login failed for user 'OURCOLLEGEDOMAIN\teststaff'

If you click OK you get a 'trusted connection' box which allows you to enter the SQL username and password again which then lets you through.

If at the point of choosing authentication type i choose windows intgrated the result is the same provided I click sql, then enter the username and password and then click back to windows auth before clicking next. If i just click next without entering a username and password it will not proceed

Help.

Thank Post
    Is all this on the SQL server or are parts in Facility Admin? The DSN for all our Facility connections here are stored in DSN/CDB files so to point Admin at a different database than your live one we would load up a different CDB file.