+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Google Chrome crashes for student users in Technical; I am working on getting the latest version of Google Chrome working in our labs before the new school year ...

Thank Post

Google Chrome crashes for student users

I am working on getting the latest version of Google Chrome working in our labs before the new school year starts up but am having issues. I have version 20.0.1132.57 installed. I believe its Google's version of Flash that is crashing as the browser just displays "Aw, Snap!". I can launch it without issues when logged in as the local admin, but when I log in as a test student I get the error messages:

"You don't have permission to use te application "Chrome Helper."
    "You don't have permission to use te application "Chrome Helper EH."
    "You don't have permission to use te application "KSAdmin."

I use Work Group Manager to control which apps students have access to and it show for Google Chrome that access is allowed for the apps. I even tried dragging the 3 apps to allow them independently and still no luck. We really depend on Google Chrome as we are a Google School and Google Apps just work better with Google Chrome. Can anyone shed some light on what's going on here. Had not issues last year with older versions. Might have to roll back but that's a security risk!

iMacs with 10.6.8 with all applied updates

Thank Post
    Well I rolled back to version 19 and it fixed the issue. Just a warning that Google must have made some major changes in version 20. I need to find a change-log. So if you use Workgroup Manager to control what apps students or faculty use then version 20 may cause an issue for you and giving permission to the apps within Google Chrome. If anyone manages to dig-up anything on this issue please share.

Thank Post