+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Apple Wireless in Technical; Hi, .. I've just spent 10 minutes writing a maessage and then forgot to click the submit new thread button.. ...
    Thank Post

Apple Wireless

Hi,

.. I've just spent 10 minutes writing a maessage and then forgot to click the submit new thread button..

Anyway..

I am new to Apples, and we've only had them in school a couple of years, and I am wondering the best way to get them onto the wireless.
    Currently we have a wireless network which is working fine for the WIndows machines, and mostly fine for the Apple machines, but we have: 2x MacBooks, 4x Iphones, 12x Ipads, and a couple of Ipods due sometime this month.

I have noticed that I am unable to use the time machine backup over the wireless from my macbook, but I can do it when I am connected via the ethernet.
    I suspect there are other things I can't do, but just not noticed yet too.

What is the best way to get these services to work for the Apple machines ?

When we upgrade to Lion (probably this summer) I will also want to take control using the 'Apple devices' features within Lion, but since I can't see the time machine, I don't think I'll be abel to see these either.

What I was thinking was I needed to create a new VLAN / SSID for the Apple machines called 'AppleAccess', and also multi-home the Mac Server into this. But this seems like a lot of hassle, although I am technically able to do this, I wonder if this is the right way. I'd rather not put all the Appple devices wired and wireless in the saem VLAN, as I like to keep them separate for security.