+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, SMB command help in Technical; Hello Edugeek forum peeps, This is my first post , hopefully i will get some where .i have been pulling ...

Thank Post

SMB command help

Hello Edugeek forum peeps,

This is my first post , hopefully i will get some where .i have been pulling my hair out over this problem for a little while.

A bit of background , i have a magic triangle setup in my school , with my ad as the main authentication server and the od as the preferences manager and to provide some file services

What I'm trying to do , my users need two home shares , one for when they log into the apple os and one for when they log in windows os. They have one for windows already, i need an extra one for the apple login , as to prevent file format confusion between the two areas and os's. bear in my mind i work in a school.

I have tried to create augmented user areas on top of the ad users using the wgm tool. , not much luck . Any pointers would be appreciated

Also i would the users to have the access to their windows home area via a shortcut on their desktop on the apple os. I know in windows , you add the %username% line at the end of a share path to create and use the area with the login named used, but whats the equivalent line in mac.

All help will be much appreciated.

CK

Thank Post
    I appreciate that you wish to keep the items separate due to incompatibility issues but what incompatibility do you have? Is it something that you can remove/eradicate?

The reason I ask is because I merge my windows home dir in with the os x home dir and this allows the users to be able to access the documents/information no matter which os they are logged into?

But having said that, somewhere in this forum there is a thread that someone started about creating the augmented records. Also take a look at Apple's education video tutorials. Im sure I saw a video that explained how to create an augmented record. It may have even been for the home dir.