+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Outlook 2011 and self-caused permission issue in Technical; Morning Chaps, I am having an issue with Outlook 2011 that I admittedly caused myself, but i cannot find a ...
    Thank Post

Outlook 2011 and self-caused permission issue

Morning Chaps,

I am having an issue with Outlook 2011 that I admittedly caused myself, but i cannot find a way to resolve it, hoping you can help.

My office iMac was on Snow Leopard and bound to the network with no problems. I also logged in using my AD account, but, as I am a domain admin and because of various settings I had a profile on the machine under Users, lets call it Account1. I configured outlook 2011 on this account and it was working fine, no problems.

I then upgraded to Lion.

Lion does not like being on the AD, and after much troubleshooting I decided that as this was the office machine I would take it off the domain and create a local account (Account2). Because i didn't want to loose all my settings and files from my domain account profile I changed permissions on Account1 for full access to Account2 and copied them accord to the new location (This included the Library, Documents, Music etc. This seemed to work fine for most things, however, when i try to open outlook I get the following error:

"You do not have sufficient permissions to view the contents of this folder"

In addition, Word 2011 will not autosave as I do not have permissions for that location either.

I have reinstalled office (using Appzapper to really clear out the Library), but sadly to no avail. I would be really grateful of any advice in this situation, as using OWA is killing me!

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jason_Bennett View Post
    Morning Chaps,

I am having an issue with Outlook 2011 that I admittedly caused myself, but i cannot find a way to resolve it, hoping you can help.