+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Mac Thread, New to Mac Server in Technical; Hi, Ive just had a shiney new mac server land on my desk to help control the growing number of ...
    Thank Post

New to Mac Server

Hi,

Ive just had a shiney new mac server land on my desk to help control the growing number of macs in school, which we have only had over the past 12 months, currently upto 20 but this is expected to keep on growing so, a great time to introduce a mac server, like a lot of people here, im only learning mac myself since we had those first macs 12 months ago. Although i have managed to manage the macs locally and learn a fair bit during this year, when it comes to the server side, i have no experience what so ever, the most technical thing i have done with the standalone macs, was to bind them to AD to allow windows users to be able to logon.

Now my questions and need for advice come, because i have read about all the things i can now achieve with the mac server, but how i learnt mac, was to first find the mac alternative to how i was trying to do something it windows, like system preferences to control panel etc.

So i have been looking for computers and users alternative in mac, although i can see where to add users, i dont know how i connect my mac clients to the server.

How help on this would be great, first changes i should make to the server, and just where i can find everything.

My goal is to be able to lock the macs down, have a mapped drive from the mac server on the clients, share printers, and push applications and updates out using the server.

Regards

Thank Post
    Just off the top of my head here are 3 things that we heavily rely on with our server.

Workgroup Manager
    ARD (Apple Remote Desktop)
    Deploystudio - for imaging and rebuilding

I'd say that the most important one there would be WGM for you. Manages permissions, drives, printers, user access etc.

3. Thanks to SC92 from:

stevenwba (21st September 2011)