+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Workgroup Manager permission effecting iMovie 09 capturing. in Technical; Hello all, Firstly I'd like to say hi, this is my first post on here and I'm hoping I've come ...

Thank Post

Workgroup Manager permission effecting iMovie 09 capturing.

Hello all,

Firstly I'd like to say hi, this is my first post on here and I'm hoping I've come to the right place.

I'm a IT technician at a school in Birmingham, UK and we have recently installed a suite of iMacs( 21.5 inch 3.06 Ghz), with a Mac Pro server (2.66 Ghz quad core). Although I've been a personal Mac user for many years now, I've never had to Administer Macs before in a schooling environment.

I've been getting to grips with Workgroup Manager, setting up user accounts and the likes, however I've come across a problem with iMovie when users attempt to capture footage.

When a user is logged on to a computer and the try to capture footage using the inbuilt webcam I keep getting an error saying

"The import was canceled. You may not have permission to write to /iMovie Events.localized."

I don't know, but I'm guessing this is something to do with inherited permissions from Workgroup Manager, if some one could offer any advice or point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

James

Thank Post
    James,
    The directions below provided me with the info I needed to get iMovie working with networked user accounts. Hope this helps you. I couldn't post the link due to this being my first post... Sorry.

I usually make the folder locally on each machine - the following commands should do the trick

mkdir /iMovie\ Events.localized
    chown root:admin /iMovie\ Events.localized
    chmod 1777 /iMovie\ Events.localized