+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Removal of Permissions/ACL on Windows Home Folder in Technical; Hi Don't quite know how to explain this one... but here goes. Server is XServe 2.26ghz Mac OS X 10.6.4 ...
    Thank Post

Removal of Permissions/ACL on Windows Home Folder

Hi

Don't quite know how to explain this one... but here goes.

Server is XServe 2.26ghz Mac OS X 10.6.4 and I have a suite of 16 iMac 21.5" 3.06ghz Mac OS X 10.6.4.
    The organisation here is a Windows 2003 domain, and it has only been in the last fortnight that the Mac network has been integrated using the Active Directory plugin on the Xserve. I'm new to administrating the Xserve/iMacs.

Our users can log into the iMacs using their windows logon. Each windows Active Directory account has a home folder set. On logging into the iMacs the first ever time, all is ok, with the home folder being correctly mounted and access being achieved.
    However, presumably on logout, it appears that the ACL is removed from the home folder on the windows server, so no permissions or owner is visible. The next time you try and login into an iMac using that account, you get the error message:

"You are unable to log in to the user account "<name>" at this time. Logging in to the account failed because an error occurred."

Now I know that this error is being caused because access to the home folder for that user is being denied, but does anybody know (or seen before) why the permissions are being removed from the home folder on the windows server.

Incidentally, although we have only being using the iMacs for a couple of weeks, this problem doesn't occur with every user every time they log in. Although, in the last couple of days the problem appears more frequent. It is this randomness which is making it harder for me to understand.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Andrew

Thank Post