+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Mac Thread, Mac Server... why should I get one? in Technical; ...

Thank Post

Mac Server... why should I get one?

I've got 15 Mac minis in the Music department and I'm considering getting a dedicated Mac Server... (why not!?).

But... why should I get one? What benefits will I see?

I'm very new to the world of Mac but the sorts of things I'd like to be able to do are:

- Group Policy type settings
    - Imaging
    - Centralised authentication (a la Active Directory)
    - Centralised storage would be handy too... (would I be able to back this up using my Windows Server with Backup Exec?)

I see that I can get a Mac mini server for around £1k... which looks reasonable enough for a dabble.

So then you lovely Mac experts... over to you!

Thank Post
    Our Mac Mini Server was far, far less than that! Educational pricing meant it was within the £650 + VAT bracket. It will allow you, with AD-OD integration if you have an AD server, to lockdown your Macs, image them and provide storage if needed. Ours only runs the OD at the moment, but it's a nice machine.

Thank Post
    I don't know how a Mini will cope with storage major storage setups. They only have 2.5" drives and I've read before that they're not ideal for central storage - sadly I can't find the article I looked at to quote it properly though.

OD authentication and imaging and stuff should be fine. Be aware that the 'Group Policy type settings' settings that the Workgroup Manager GUI offers are nowhere near as fine-grained. If it is your intention to secure your macs to a level similar to that which you probably have your windows machines, buckle up for a long and complicated ride. Many more things can be customised via what are essentially text config files, but it can take a lot of work. Depends on how thorough you want to be...

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by pantscat View Post
    Imaging