+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Mac Thread, Unable to empty trash - permissions problem in Technical; I cannot delete a folder from my trash as I do not have the correct permissions to do so. I ...
    theeldergeek

Unable to empty trash - permissions problem

I cannot delete a folder from my trash as I do not have the correct permissions to do so.

I have tried the "getinfo" and change permissions from there, but I can only set myself to "read only".

I am an admin on the local machine (although the 'trash' folder resides in my network home)

I realise I am going to need to go down to terminal level, but I am unsure how to proceed. My guess is "sudo chown" ...

I have tried sudo chown <name> <path & folder (network)> and I get a password prompt, which I input, but the procedure fails with "Operation not permitted"

Assistance required!

Thank Post
    sudo chmod -R 777 <trash folder> (should then prompt for you to re-enter your local admin account password)
    sudo chown -R user:group <trash folder>

Is your network home on a Mac Server, or a Windows Server?

3. Thanks to Marci from:

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,091 Times in 1,006 Posts
    If you move the folder back to its original location and use batchmod

Home of BatChmod

Download and install the above util and you should be able to drag and drop the problematic folder onto the util and set perms etc as relevant and apply that

Also check to see if there is anything inside of the folder that is having the issues ie permissions or locked files etc

5. Thanks to mac_shinobi from:

theeldergeek
    Quote Originally Posted by Marci View Post
    sudo chmod -R 777 <trash folder> (should then prompt for you to re-enter your local admin account password)

Is your network home on a Mac Server, or a Windows Server?
    Network home is on an xserve

theeldergeek
    Grrrrrr!!

I still can't get it to work.

I am putting this into terminal :