+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Importing movies to a network drive in imovie in Technical; I am having trouble trying to import Movies to a mapped drive on our mac server in imovie09 Now I ...

Thank Post

Importing movies to a network drive in imovie

I am having trouble trying to import Movies to a mapped drive on our mac server in imovie09
    Now I am a complete novice when it comes to macs, so Iím not sure if this is even possible!
    We are trying to import the movies to the mac server to save space on the harddrives of the mac and to give the pupils a central place to store their work.
    Can this be done?
    Iíve tried importing the movies to the mac hard drive first and then moving the event into the mapped drive in the event library (but nothing happens). I have noticed that the mapped drive has a yellow explanation mark next to it in the event library!?
    Hope this makes sense!!
    Thanks
    Paul

Thank Post
    Have you tried using the previous version of iMovie, iMovie HD?

we've had the same problems as you, had to make a drop box on the hard drive then the users copy the files to their work area.

However, with iMovie HD I've found it can actually find the server, and you can save projects to the server alot easier. Plus it is SO much easier to use.

Thank Post
    Hi rolfea
    Thanks for the reply!

Have you any brief instructions on how to create a drop box on the hard drive?
    Iím just getting to grips with the Macís they just "appeared" at our school! ha ha

Also is imovie hd free?

Thanks again!

Thank Post
    I just created a folder on the root of the hard drive and gave permissions to students groups and teachers groups. If you don't want students to be able to open it, but able to drag and drop you can set it as write only