+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Mac Thread, Would I need a Mac Server? in Technical; We are thinking about putting half a dozen Mac's into our windows domain. I have read that I can join ...
    Thank Post

Would I need a Mac Server?

We are thinking about putting half a dozen Mac's into our windows domain. I have read that I can join the macs to authenticate on active directory, get mapped drives so I wouldnt need a Mac server for users?? Also Would those macs be able to go out through our exsisting ISA server??

Would all a mac server be good for is locking down the Mac's?

Thank Post
    I have looked into putting MACs on our windows network this year too. I am not an expert in this topic but I don't think you need a xserve etc for the AD integration - I however will probably use a mac mini as a server to deal with locking the MACs down.

Thank Post
    Was not looking at an xserve as they are too expensive also thought about a mini with the server OS installed.

Thank Post
    Blog Entries
    We found that the mac os x server is needed for the apple equivelent of Group policy, you could get the macs to authenticate to the domain without, but with no control over the desktops etc.

RobK

Thank Post
    Thanked 1,588 Times in 1,391 Posts
    Blog Entries
    As others have said, you only need the server to lock them down. As for ISA it wont be a problem at all.

Thank Post
    Yep, macs will now intergrate fine with active directory to authenticate users but to have 'group policy's on the mac to lock them down etc you will need a mac server. if you only have a small amount of macs you wish to integrate you can easily do the locking down with a mac mini running osx server which is a much cheaper option than an xserve and works just as well provided your only putting in a small number of macs.

Thank Post