+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, "Connect to Server" query in Technical; Hi all!! I am quite new to Macs and am learning as I go - so far with some great ...

Thank Post

"Connect to Server" query

Hi all!!

I am quite new to Macs and am learning as I go - so far with some great help from this forum. Thanks all so far.

I dont think we are using OS X Server to its full potential yet. Our students currently login to their EMAC with a generic userid and then use "Connect to Server" to access their personal drive on the server.

I am rolling out some new IMAC's and would like to use "Simple Finder" and "Parental Control" to control what my students are allowed to access (until I get up to speed with OS X Server). Unfortunately, I have lost the "Go" menu and that means I can't run "Connect to Server" to access my server. Is there a way around this if I want to use Simple Finder, or is there a better way?

Many thanks,

Thank Post
    Not 100% sure but I think simple finder may only take away the menu item, not the ability to connect to servers.

Try using the keyboard shortcut to do the same thing (cmd-k) to see if it still works. If it does you could then just drop a shortcut to the server onto the desktop.

There's probably a way to poke at the user interface in simple finder to enable the Go menu, but it would be a bit of a hack. I'd suggest the way forward is to get playing with workgroup manager & lock down your computers/accounts that way, simple finder is incredibly restricting,

Let me know if you need anything else,

Tim

Thank Post
    Hi Tim.

Thanks for that - I think you're probably right - I think I need to do it properley and htat means using workgroup manager. Inicidentally, I tried cmd-k and it didn't work!!

Can you give me any tips on using Workgroup Manager.

Many thanks,

Andy

Thank Post
    Workgroup Manager isn't extremely hard to use, I have limited knowledge about Macs and have been using it for for about 6 months without to many problems.