+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Controlling MACs with AD GPO's in Technical; I am new to using MACs and know nothing and am keen for a bit of help!! I've got 10 ...

Thank Post

Controlling MACs with AD GPO's

I am new to using MACs and know nothing and am keen for a bit of help!! I've got 10 new MACs that I need to get networked and get them onto my Windows 2003 Domain. I've got my test MAC on the AD domain and now have a couple of quesitons - hope someone can help!

If I logon to the MAC with an AD user account and open Finder and go to the "Shared" tab, I see all of the shares that are available on the authorising domain controller, including my user accounts share (listed ith a $ at the end). How can I hide these shares?

I would like to map some drives and provide access to printers currently being delivered by my domain controllers, in the same way as my PCs work. How can I do this?

Is it possible to create a policy that restricts access to certain components on the MAC dependent on user logon permissions - again in the same way as PC work? Is this a MAC policy or would it be an AD policy

Many thanks again for helping the Newboy!!

Thank Post
    You need to use OpenDirectory along with ActiveDirectory. OpenDirectory is the Apple directory service, similar to ActiveDirectory.To use OpenDirectory you need a machine running Mac OS X Server. This includes a tool called WorkGroup Manager which allows you to create what are called MCX preferences, which are similar to GPOs on Windows Server.

The way it works is that your Mac clients are bound to both directory services - AD for user authentication and OD for setting machine/user preferences and restrictions.