+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, iMovie, AD and User Storage quotas in Technical; Hi all, I've recently inherited a school, primarily PC's, but they have a Mac lab which is bound to the ...
    mnk

Thank Post

iMovie, AD and User Storage quotas

Hi all,

I've recently inherited a school, primarily PC's, but they have a Mac lab which is bound to the domain... I'm not very experienced with Macs.
    We hit an issue last week where kids were trying to import media into iMovie from iPads/cameras etc. This was importing the data to their user drives on the network, but their storage quotas were getting in the way and the import would fail with an error of "not enough disk space".
    I've done a bit of testing/playing with symbolic links in windows, where I was seeing if I could just point the %userprofile%/Movies folder to another server and purge this each term/year, thus dodging the quotas issue on their home drives. However, symbolic links in Windows doesn't seem to translate to Mac/Unix. iMovie doesn't seem to have just an easy option of "Import files to X location", which is frustrating.

Yes, an easier solution would be to just bump the quotas on each student, but it's going to be messy trying to manage quotas for 50-100 kids.

Does anyone else have a suggestion as to what I can try?

Edit: What if I was to get my hands on a NAS? How would I go about having the Macs point to this for the iMovie data?
    Last edited by mnk; 27th June 2014 at 01:29 AM.

Thank Post
    Is there a way in Windows to do custom folder redirection? I feel like you could make a admin template for group policy but it's not something I've ever tried.

A possible option would be to use local folders on the Mac

1. Directory Utility app in /System/Library/CoreServices
    2. Unlock and double click on Active Directory
    3. User experience tab and tick "Force local home directory on startup disk"