+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Mac Thread, Upgrade from 10.6.8 to 10.9 in Technical; ...
    Thank Post

Upgrade from 10.6.8 to 10.9

I'm planning the upgrade of our 10.6.8 server and Mac suite to 10.9. I've done a test upgrade on a Mac client which worked (apart from the ad/od was broken as the server is still 10.6.8)

I just want to check I'm getting my facts correct here, I'm planning to:

1) Upgrade the server to 10.9 using the free upgrade from the app store
    2) Purchase the server app (£13.99) and that should then upgrade the server component on the server
    3) Setup the ad/od stuff again on the server
    4) Prepare a client to 10.9, and then use deploystudio to copy it to the others

Have I missed anything, or totally misjudged the complexity of this?

Thank Post
    I'm not an expert here, and I may be completely wrong, but as far as I'm aware, there was a rather big change from 10.6 to 10.7 server. (Not so much from 10.7 to 10.8 and 10.9) So, an upgrade might break quite a few things. Also, I set up my 10.7 server from scratch and the AD/OD setup was slightly different in that there was a few bits of trust related stuff that you needed to do, but the main principle was still the same. It might be worth trying the setup in a test (virtual) environment before going for broke in the real environment.

Thank Post
    I've only done a test upgrade on a client so I'm expecting issues with the server - its just we only have the media for 10.6 and I don't want to buy 10.7 just to skip to 10.9!

I'll be backing up the server before I try anything!

Thank Post