+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Mapping AD Home Directory to Finder at logon. in Technical; Hey Guys. I have ZERO experience with Macs so bare with my terminology here. Some of it is definitely going ...
    Thank Post

Mapping AD Home Directory to Finder at logon.

Hey Guys.

I have ZERO experience with Macs so bare with my terminology here. Some of it is definitely going to be flaky. I'm trying to help out a colleague here with a problem we're having with our new Mac Suite.

Current Setup
    ===========
    * Macs joined to the domain running Mavericks.
    * Home Areas on Server 2008r2 file server.
    * Domain running @ 2008r2 Functional Level.
    * Users log into Macs using their AD credentials.

What is a nice easy way to add a link to a Students Home Area (on windows Server 2008r2) in the Finder side bar under Favourites? Can we grab this info from the Home Folder field in AD? Believe we can script it at logon using the DSCL command and the AD Plug In but all the documentation on it is pretty hard going to work out exactly what we need to do to get it working.

At the moment we have a shortcut in the dock however when in applications when they try and save this doesn't give us much help as they can't save to it! They have to save to desktop them copy to the shortcut in the dock which isn't ideal.

If anyone has any experience with this it would be very well received!

Thank Post
    I haven't tried it with Mavericks (because our Macs are too old), but this method is how I did it on Snow Leopard:

Mac OS X 10.6 Server Admin: Setting Up Home Folders for Active Directory User Accounts

Thank Post