+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Installing education app purchase for iPad?! in Technical; OK, I give up... I'm new to iPads and picking up the job of installing educational apps for the school's ...
    BJG
    Thank Post

Installing education app purchase for iPad?!

OK, I give up...

I'm new to iPads and picking up the job of installing educational apps for the school's limited collection of them, the person previously responsible having left.

I've discovered that he set up an account associated with the school's credit card, and I was able to use this to log into the Volume Purchase Program for Education and buy an app using the "redeemable code" method.

I can't figure out how to reedem/install it however. When I sign into the UK App Store it says:

"This apple id is associated with the volume purchase program for education"

...and drags me to the relevant website, but this only lists Music/Films/Books. I can't find the app. Likewise if I enter the URL I've been sent which is supposed to allow me to redeem the code. I'm sure this is stupidly simple but...getting frustrated here...don't tell me I have to set up an alternative personal account with my own credit card.

Thank Post
    Hi BJG,

You need a Mac and said Mac needs to have Apple Configurator installed.

In Apple Configurator you import the app you want to install; you need to download the app through iTunes first. Once it's imported into Apple Configurator; if it's a paid app you'll need to import the CSV file with the redeemable codes in. You can download that from the Apple Volume License site. If it's a free app, then it won't prompt you for any codes.

You need two accounts. One to redeem the codes against and another one that you use ONLY to purchase from the Volume Licensing site (sounds like that account is the one you're getting the "This apple id is associated with the volume purchase program for education" message on). I simply have a couple of alias's for this purpose.