+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Another how to map a windows share thread ! in Technical; Hello, I have what I thought would be an easy problem to solve but it has turned out to be ...
    Thank Post

Another how to map a windows share thread !

Hello,

I have what I thought would be an easy problem to solve but it has turned out to be a bit more complicated (unless I am missing something!).

We have decided to buy 16 new iMacs, infact we have already ordered them. However the powers that be have not allocated any money for a OS X server. Assuming we continue to get a decent level of capital funding next year we will buy one then. However until then I need to get the iMacs to work with our 2003 server. I have had a macbook pro for a while now but I am still fairly new to macs. I have been able to join my macbook to the AD domain without too many problems at all (Tiger 10.4.10).

What I am having a problem with is mapping a shared folder to the mac. I do not want to use the "proper" home folder setup using the old style AD user account home folder entry as I do not want all the extra files and folders to appear in the mapped folder plus these iMacs will be used for mostly animation / video editing (HD and SD content) and audio work etc... I want them to work locally, they will have 500gigs to work with after all, and then to save to the network share for security etc... I assumed I would be able to do this with a simple script that would mount the shared folder but I have been unable to get it to work.