+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Mountain Lion 10.8.2 performance issues within windows networked environment in Technical; Hi Everyone, I work in a school that is predominantly in a windows environment. However we do have 2 media ...

Thank Post

Mountain Lion 10.8.2 performance issues within windows networked environment

Hi Everyone,

I work in a school that is predominantly in a windows environment. However we do have 2 media classrooms that have imacs in them. These macs are bound to the schools AD server so that the pupils can log in with their own windows profiles. We've recently upgraded these macs to mountain lion and are experiencing some issues.

Here are some of the issues we're facing:

• There's often trouble with the accounts authenticating at log on.
    • If users do manage to get past the authentication stage, the log on process takes at least five minutes to complete.
    • When users are logged in performance in general is very poor.
    • Applications (especially office 2011) take an age to open.

As you can understand in an hour long lesson this is very frustrating for both the teachers and the students, as half the lesson is spent just getting logged in and getting work open. It becomes even more frustrating when we throw user error into the equation. For example one student typed his password incorrectly, he knew he had, but he had to wait for the authentication process to complete and throw up the incorrect password "shake". It's become that bad that I'm now having to attend each lesson that the macs are in use just to try and prevent and troubleshoot some of the issues.

We have a small classroom with 8 older generation white imacs running Snow Leopard, and have had no problems at all with their integration to a windows network. I'm seriously considering a roll back to snow leopard at the minute, just for the students sake. This is obviously quite a drastic step backwards, and my line manager will need some convincing!