+ Post New Thread
Mac Thread, Help with Apple Remote Desktop in Technical; Hi, Just to give a bit of background, I've recently completed the Apple desktop and server training courses to get ...
    ady

Thank Post

Help with Apple Remote Desktop

Hi,

Just to give a bit of background, I've recently completed the Apple desktop and server training courses to get the ACTC certification. This is because we've recently had an influx of Macs on our network here and nobody else wants to touch them!

Anyway, I am still relatively new to the world of Macs myself and realise I still have a lot to learn when it comes to putting theory into practice, that being the case, I've bee having trouble getting ARD to work properly, primarily with regard to deploying software updates.

Some background: we have 3 Xserves with Mac OSX Server 10.6.8. One is the main server and the other two are replicas. We use Active Directory to manage user accounts, with OD on the main Mac server administering preferences and services for the Mac clients.

We now have around 60 Mac client machines on our network, all of which currently run Snow Leopard as well. These Macs are all bound to OD and AD. However, for day-to-day administration, we have a Mac that sits in the main IT office and is on the same VLAN as the Macs (which are on a segregated portion of the network at this institution), and with the admin Mac, I can remotely VNC to the Mac servers as required.

Over the summer, we had a server rebuild and prior to that, ARD was used from the main Mac server to manage the client Macs, but since the original server build was set up by an external consultant who did not document properly, we couldn't find the original license information and ARD was left off the server post-rebild. As an alternative, a later version was deployed to the admin Mac (which is running Lion).