+ Post New Thread
Licensing Questions Thread, A dreaded copyright question in Technical; I think this may be the most appropriate subforum, though please feel free to educate me! There are two scenarios, ...

Thank Post

A dreaded copyright question

I think this may be the most appropriate subforum, though please feel free to educate me!

There are two scenarios, and I'm wondering if there's an allowance for them in schools.

A: Teacher has made a number of current music files available on the network for pupils to use in their work.
    B: Teacher has ripped a music track from an online video to use in class.

From what I understand, both situations would involve asking permission from the copyright holder. Can anyone clarify further?

Thank Post
    I looked into education copyright and it does differ a little from regular copyright (btw Im no expert and found myself going around in circles at times)

My understanding is:
    A: Depending on where the music came from it might be ok - there is a term used called "fair use" which excuses alot of things for education. If the teacher is ripping CD's and sharing them with the kids I'd say thats a no no. If they are allowing them to use bits of music here and there this might be considered fair use*
    B: I'm guessing youtube -> this is against the T&C's of the use of the site so would be a no without permission.

*might be of help: Education World: Is Fair Use a License to Steal?

Good luck - its a mine field!

Thank Post

4. Thanks to fiza from:

CamelMan (20th February 2013)

Thank Post
    Thank you - thats the site I was trying to re find!

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,552 Times in 1,981 Posts
    Blog Entries
    One of the things to remember is the music has to be legally purchased in the first place - you can't download pirated files to use for education.

Thank Post
    Quote Originally Posted by localzuk View Post