+ Post New Thread
Learning Network Manager Thread, Duplicate Username Problem in Technical; I've been using the Provisioning Wizard to add users in bulk. I decided to use the alias mode for usernames, ...
    Thank Post

Duplicate Username Problem

I've been using the Provisioning Wizard to add users in bulk. I decided to use the alias mode for usernames, which generates a username of first name and initial of surname, as this seemed ideal for younger children to type in (and we have some children here with very long surnames). The problem is that LNM threw up an error because two of our children have the same first name and initial for their surname. LNM will only create one of them as a user. I thought it would be able to cope, and would automatically add a 2 or something to the second one, but it doesn't.

I'm not experienced in creating users from scratch in AD. Any helpful suggestions? We're using Server 2003.

Thank Post
    Thanked 2,155 Times in 1,594 Posts

Re: Duplicate Username Problem

Just take a chosen user in the correct AD group (one in the same year or class or however they're organised)

Right click and choose copy

Rename all the appropriate bits - Put the correct first name/ surname and logon of your choice, put %username% instead of the logon at the end of the path for the home directory and profile (if used) and these will be created in the same name as the logon.

We have a huge number of duplicate names here despite having a small number of children.

We use the year of entry to prefix the logon, then first name and then initial of surname

So a Year 2 called alice smith gets the logon 04AliceS as she joined reception in 2004

This eliminates most duplicates, except in Year 4 where there are 3 Alices, 2 Alexes and 4 Emilys!

I've had to go for 02AlexRh 02AlexRi to separate the Alexes!

Thank Post