+ Post New Thread
Learning Network Manager Thread, Continued Profesional Development in Technical; Hi, I work as an ICT Technician in primary schools, I have profesional development coming up very shortly. Does anyone ...
    Thank Post

Smile Continued Profesional Development

Hi,

I work as an ICT Technician in primary schools, I have profesional development coming up very shortly.

Does anyone have any ideas for what to suggest/ qualifications to do?

Thank Post
    Would be interested in replies to this, usually if targets are mentioned in the meetinmg they are usually paying the mortgage and getting through to the end of that particular half term!

Thank Post
    A+, MCP, N+, MCSA, take your pic. I guess a good start would be the A+, it's relatively simple and usefull for your enviroment. Most techs have it, want it or are above that level. It's industry recognised and cross platform supposedly. quite easy to get. cost about 100 or 200 quid so well with in CPD budgets usually.

Thank Post
    I went for a CCNA. Useful at work for finding faults and optimising the network since my networking skills/knowledge weren't the best.

Also a good certificate/qualification to have under the belt since it is known world-wide.

Thank Post
    TBH the Comptia stuff is very good... they all good good on your CV and are well worth it.

CompTIA Network+

MCSA rather than MCSE defo, even just passing one M$ exam gets you a MCP and a shiny certificate.

Thank Post
    Thanks for that everybody. I will look into them also.

What about targets to suggest for myself for example progression to other roles.

Thanks again.

Thank Post
    I would also suggest ITIL or FITS. You don't state if you work alone or not, but how about the NVQ 2 in Team Leading and/or Customer Service.

Technical skills are great, but never under-estimate your soft skills.