+ Post New Thread
Learning Network Manager Thread, IT Technician additional training? in Technical; Hi, I'm an IT technician in a secondary school with a network consisting of over 300 computers running XP and ...
    ron

Thank Post

IT Technician additional training?

Hi, I'm an IT technician in a secondary school with a network consisting of over 300 computers running XP and I have been asked by the management to provide a list of skills or task that are carried out by a technician or network manager that I don't currently have or do so that I can work towards improving my professional development.

What skills or task do you think I should be asking to learn, I know this may be a difficult question to answer as you won't know my current skills or background but if you look at the duties that you carry out and the skills that you have what advice could you give, please feel free to list skills and duties even if you think I may already have them.

Basically what should I be asking from my employer if I wanted to work towards a network manager role from being a technician?

Many thanks.

Thank Post
    Qualification/training Ideas:

1) MCSE or 2008 stuff
    2) ITIL
    3) SWIS Level 3 Diploma
    4) A+ / N+
    5) Relevant MIS qualification/study

Thank Post
    Mmmm surely as a "technician" the main reason you get paid less than a network manager, manager being the operative word, is because you dont have to do this sort of management task. They (network manager / slt) should know what a technician role entails and for that matter a network manager.