+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Protecting my website in Technical; I manage the website for my school, which is built using Drupal. My background is mostly from the design side ...
    sjb

Thank Post

Protecting my website

I manage the website for my school, which is built using Drupal. My background is mostly from the design side of things so I don't have a lot of knowledge about security issues. I have noticed from the logs that there have been an increasing number of attempts to post obscene spam messages on our guestbook page (now up to around 150 a day). I have Mollom protection enabled, which is working well at the moment, and also have to approve any posts before they are published. However, I am concerned that the attacks may become more serious. A few log entries refer to 'page not found' errors for pages that have never existed on the site - eg one recent one was for crossdomain.xml.

Should I be concerned? Is there any action I can take to protect the site and its contents? We have a lot of photos of school activities on the site, which is one of the most popular features with parents, but I am starting to feel a little uncomfortable about this if we are attracting attention from the darker side of the web.

I have changed the url of the guestbook, and may even take it down completely uf it will help to solve the problem as it is hardly ever used by legitimate visitors. Have also blocked the ip addresses of the spammers on the site and on the web host.

Any advice appreciated!

hit
    Thank Post