+ Post New Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Smoothwall Express - Have I got this right? in Technical; Arising from this thread: http://www.edugeek.net/forums/intern...on-kindle.html , in which I've been working on a way of getting devices that can't accept ...
    Thank Post

Smoothwall Express - Have I got this right?

Arising from this thread: Amazon Kindle , in which I've been working on a way of getting devices that can't accept a proxy server setting (and that will only accept wireless connections with DHCP (Android 2.1 on an E-Pad)) working in school, I've set up a Smoothwall Express box as a transparent proxy. This is in a feasibility study / proof of concept / evaluating devices type of scenario rather than wanting anything large scale for now.

It seems to work OK, but as I've never used SW before, I'd be grateful of confirmation from those that have that I'm not doing anything silly. It's configured as follows:

Red - given a static IP in our normal school range as assigned by our RBC (10.105.xxx.xxx)

Green - assigned 192.168.0.1 and (Physically) connected straight to an unmanaged wireless access point I had lying around 192.168.0.2 (independant of the main Ruckus wireless in school, on channel 2, different SSID, and setup to only allow MAC addresses I specify).

DHCP is ON, giving out 192.168.0.3 to 192.168.0.254

Web Proxy is ON, in transparent mode, upstreaming to the RBC proxy.

I'm nervous about the DHCP bit - can someone reassure me that it's not going to start sending out duff addresses to the school network is it?

2. Thanks to BatchFile from:

camel (29th March 2011)

Thank Post
    I've never used DHCP on SW before so I can only offer my best guess (which comes with no warranty). I believe it only dishes DHCP out of the green interface so in theory you should be ok.

Maybe one of the smoothwall guys could shed a bit more light.

4. Thanks to bladedanny from:

tom_newton (17th January 2011)

Thank Post