+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Squid with on a Win2008 R2 server problems in Technical; Dear all, Just wondering if anyone has any advice they could offer on the up keep of squid? I have ...
    Thank Post

Squid with on a Win2008 R2 server problems

Dear all,

Just wondering if anyone has any advice they could offer on the up keep of squid? I have a 2008R2 server running on the student VLAN which forwards all web requests on to our main IAS server on the default VLAN via squid.

Unfortunately this was setup by my predecessor and I have no knowledge of squid. It was all working fine but lately it has been dropping request as far as I can tell (See attached) at peak times when all the boarders go back to there rooms to surf the web.

I have had a look at the other posts about squid on here and heard that you can clear the log files but am unsure on the best way of doing this. On the following post Squid problems - The redirector helpers are crashing too rapidly, need help! at says about the cache.log and I have found the folder which this file is in and have listed the files below, some look really big should they be cleared?

access.log - 4GB
    Cache.log - 97MB
    squid.pid 1KB
    store.log 12GB!!!!!!!!!!

Is this right? Any other stuff I should be checking?
    Thanks
    FB
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thank Post