+ Post New Thread
Internet Related/Filtering/Firewall Thread, Microsoft Exchange 2010 (New Setup - 2000 mailbox) in Technical; Right, we currently have a very bad externally host mail solution which I really want to scrap. Now I've had ...
    Thank Post

Microsoft Exchange 2010 (New Setup - 2000 mailbox)

Right, we currently have a very bad externally host mail solution which I really want to scrap. Now I've had some experience with Exchange 03 before so we have decided that’s the route we would like to take among many other reasons.

Now what information I'm after is basically what are peoples setups with regards to how many servers, split roles, resource allocation (these will be virtual servers, hyper-v) etc.

Give or take we will probably end up with about 2000 mailboxes, I'm only going to have office staff and maybe some other staff on Outlook for now, the rest will use OWA. That could parentally be accessed concurrently by up to 800 machines and that’s just internally (external access, active sync for all the iPhone’s etc etc)

So what would people recommend, I'm going to put the client access roles on a separate VM and then transport and mailbox roles on another VM. These can have anything up to 24 GB ram allocated each if they need it so I have plenty of resources, VHDs will be stored on the SAN (thanks SUN).

Is it worth adding another mailbox/transport server and then setting up a DAG for HA and load sharing?

I'm trying to get some figures from our current e-mail provider about how much mail per mailbox there is and what’s received per day etc to try and understand the load that could be placed on this system. As far the information I have received looks high.

How have people setup their current Exchange systems, I’ll be very interested to hear.

Thanks for any information, it will be of great help!
    Rob
    Last edited by RobFuller; 11th March 2010 at 02:56 PM.

Thank Post